LibGuides: English: Holocaust Research Project: Primary Sources/Digital Archives

Historical Archives - Wesborough

(Contains Historical Archives of Westborough)

INTERNET ARCHIVES

(WHS YEARBOOKS 1885-2012)

On the Beaten Path: Westborough, MA Digital book

Primary Sources

American Memory This link opens in a new window
Primary sources through the Library of Congress
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Explore 5,088,841 items from libraries, archives, and museums.
The DPLA is led now by Executive Director Dan Cohen and guided by a Board of Directors comprised of leading public and research librarians, technologists, intellectual property scholars, and business experts from around the country.
Internet Sacred Text Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source texts for World Religions
New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new window

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Library of Congress: Primary Source Sets
National Archives
more...less...
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
National Archives: DocsTeach
National Archives: Exhibits
Smithsonian
Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture
more...less...
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. It was established by Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans. To date, the Museum has collected more than 36,000 artifacts and nearly 100,000 individuals have become members. The Museum opened to the public on September 24, 2016, as the 19th and newest museum of the Smithsonian Institution.

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are the evidence of history, original records or objects created by participants or observers at the time historical events occurred or even well after events, as in memoirs and oral histories. Primary sources may include but are not limited to: letters, manuscripts, diaries, journals, newspapers, maps, speeches, interviews, documents produced by government agencies, photographs, audio or video recordings, born-digital items (e.g. emails), research data, and objects or artifacts (such as works of art or ancient roads, buildings, tools, and weapons).