Teacher Handouts
Reference Books
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism by Call Number: REF 809 BRYISBN: 081030175XPublication Date: 1978-03-31(TCLC) (for works published from 1900 to 1960)
Excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers and other creative writers who lived between 1900 and 1960, from the first published critical appraisals to current evaluations.
Indexes: Each volume contains index cumulative from v. 1
These books in the WHS Library reference collection are excellent sources for criticism:
- Nineteenth Century Literary CriticismCall Number: REF 809 NIN(NCLC) (for works published in the 1800s)
Recommended Books: Destiny OPAC
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Call Number: 813.4 SLOISBN: 0805779639Publication Date: 1988-08-01Literary criticism of Twain's greatest work
Gale Virtual Reference ebooks
Boston Public Library
Yes, Massachusetts State Residents can sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard via the web! Just follow the prompts on the registration form and your eCard number will be emailed to you.
LibGuide Goals
Goals:
- To learn how to locate and identify academic critical articles related to literature
- See the types of critical articles available for the author you have chosen for the American Author Project
Literary criticism is the evaluation, analysis, description, or interpretation of literary works. Criticism may examine a particular literary work, or may look at an author's writings as a whole. Finding literary criticism can be challenging. This pathfinder is designed to help students in researching and writing a paper that requires sources of literary criticism.
Literature Databases
Recommended Websites
- A Literary Index: Internet Resources in Literature This link opens in a new windowA Literary Index: Internet Resources in Literature.
A selective index geared toward students and scholars that includes sections on conducting literary research, archives of e-texts, and information on books and presses, composition rhetoric and writing, and teaching literature. The site is well organized and provides background information on the resources it provides. Maintained by Chris Flack for the Department of English at Vanderbilt University. - Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection This link opens in a new windowInternet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection.
A collection of more than 4,000 links, selected for quality and organized by author, title, nationality, and period. Some links are to subscription databases that may not be
available in your library, but most are freely accessible. The Internet Public Library (IPL) is a public service organization of the School of Information at the University of Michigan.
Google Scholar
You can also perform “good” Google searches that result in appropriate literary analysis.
· Use Google Scholar, which helps to eliminate the “junk”
· Search with quotes and restrict to .edu or .org sites: “Book Title” site:edu”
· Search with quotes and the plus sign: "Critical Analysis” + “Ernest Hemingway"
Encyclopedia
Subject Guide
